Jo Nesbø: Sønnen By Jo Nesbø



Book had been read up to page 149 crumbs between the pages the occasional suashed insect but after page 150 the rest of the book was pristine the spine was uncreased We got a reasonable set of prints from the cover and ran them though the atabase of usual suspects We got an immediate hit they belonged to Paul Bryant who we knew from a lot of smart aleck stuff on Goodreads We picked him up at 1130 am on Tuesday hanging around Waterstones He Woman Much Missed didn t give us any trouble We took himowntown and put him in the box read him his rights He Why Americas Top Pundits Are Wrong didn t want a lawyer That was smart Weon t like lawyers muchHe wanted to know why he was there so we explained We said that we Citizen Cain don t like book reviewers whoon t finish books they review 149 pages out of 645 is like nothing He said it s not nothing it s 23% We asked him not to get lippy and explained that we could cuff him if he would like us to We explained that we Trail of Secrets don t think reviewers have any right to have an opinion on something they haven t read He said that in this particular case he had no grudge against the book unlike many he had previously abandoned The records show this guy is a serial abandoner He said that he would be very happy to watch the Scandinavian Noir miniseries they will surely make of this book But he said that whereas on screen the clunky crime clich s of modern thrillers are often successfully sidestepped by theelicious playing of the actors say Sophie Grabol as Sarah Lund or Sofia Helin as Saga Noren on the page they just lie there and How to Train a Cowboy die there So you get lines like Are you telling me that you allowed yourself to be outwitted Goldsrud How farid he getWe said that when you read a Joe Nesbo book you aren t expecting William Faulkner He said that all One Special Moment due respect he knew that but even so We issued him with an official warning stop trying to be popular stick to your fancy arse Don DeLillos and Cormac McCarthys You know what s best for you Next time we won t be wearing kid glovesHe said that line could have come right out of The Son That s when he had the minor accident a report of which has already been filed Sometimes it s hard to express just how good a book is Finding just the right often used words and phrases toepict how it made you feel but anyway here goes The Son has gripping unrelenting action bent coppers A Touch of Persuasion (Men Of Wolff Mountain drugealers human traffickers the Watch for Me by Moonlight (The Midnight Twins, dregs of the underworld and then there s Sonny Lofthus The Son who is on a mission to rid the world of some very unpleasant characters to avenge theeath of his police officer father There s a villain called The Twin and also a police mole who nobody knows the identity of but Sonny is The Mommy Makeover determined to find them all It was hard to put this bookown and when I The Convicts Bounty Bride (Convict Wives did I was constantly thinking about it there were so many clues to investigate Iecided part way through the book who the mole was and then changed my mind and then changed it again It A River of Royal Blood (Untitled, definitely worked its way into my psyche I found myself rooting for Sonny and wanted a good outcome but it was hard to see how that was ever gonna happen Nesboid a great job of making a protagonist with an agenda appear childlike and innocent Highly recommended. L on the same First Blood dayBoth of them knew Sonny's fatherTo Sonny he was the man he idolised to Simon he was his best friend Both were leftevastated when his corruption was revealedBut neither of them knew the truth.

Summary Sønnen By Jo Nesbø

EPUB ó Sønnen By Jo Nesbø BY Jo Nesbø – ecogenlife.org

I finally read my first Jo Nesbo book and I mostly enjoyed it I found the storyline of The Son gripping and the 45 Stars This is an excellent tale of revenge superbly written and very enjoyable I usually avoid mysteries with too many gory murder The Palliser Novels details but this one was a satisfying andark tale of the struggle between good and evil The protagonist in the audio version of this story was so soft spoken and his enemies so reptilian that his uniue ways of ispatching each malevolent character seemed totally justified It s a stand alone novel which I prefer rather than a series I was engrossed from the beginning to its karmic conclusion I confess beginning The Son with a healthy egree of skepticism I was continually trying to second guess the rationale for writing a police thriller sans everyone s favorite Hunter Killer (Pike Logan detective Suffice to say I think my uestion was answered by the end of the novel you won t beisappointed to pick up this book While there are some similarities with the classic series such as a flawed Brazen and the Beast (The Bareknuckle Bastards, detective hero Kripos fighting with the local crime suad I guess its noifferent from the cliche of FBI taking over the locals investigation The Son stands out as an unusual tale of revenge violence redemption and morality Not wanted to exaggerate this novel too much although it is very good Nesbo almost reaches Shakespearean heights in his portrayal of needy characters making tragic choicesThe plot is a slow but satisfying build It takes a few chapters before the story starts to gather momentum and most enjoyable part of the book is unlike a typical thriller where the majority of the impetus to keep reading is around solving the mystery The Son successfully sucks you into the lives of the characters and wanting to see the outcome for themSo for fans of Harry Hole or Nesbo s other books are there other books really The Son should be a stable in your The Friend Zone diet For newbies or even anti fans I still recommend The Son as a solid stand alone book Nesbo stays away from making this book too Nordic Noir so if you re worried about reading something as heavy as a Larson bookon t be in fact I think this book is set in summer if that happens in Norway I have read every book in Jo Nesb s Harry Hole series and enjoyed them all so I Flying Scotsman Manual decided it was time to try his stand alone books too It was a goodecisionT Jo Nesb is a pure gold phenomenon An economist active musiciansongwritervocalist ex footballer retired Alpha (Shifters, due to injury he confessed in 2013 to be behin This is a very good stand alone novel from Jo Nesbo author of the series featuring the brilliant Norwegian homicideetective Harry Hole This psychological thriller features two protagonists The first is a young man named Sonny Loftus Sonny s father was exposed as a corrupt cop and took his own life Completely Whalerider destroyed by the loss of the father he adored andisillusioned by the revelations about the man Sonny turns to Charlie Turns Into a T-Rex drugs Now in his middle thirties Sonny has spend half his life in prison and he s now serving time for crimes that heid not commit As a reward for confessing to crimes perpetrated by others he is given easy time and access to an on going supply of. Sonny is a model prisonerHe listens to the confessions of other inmates at Oslo jail and absolves them of their sins Some people even whisper that Sonny is serving time for someone else that he oesn't just li.

HeroinSonny has a rare gift of empathy and has earned a reputation among his fellow prisoners as a figure who can absolve them of their sins Whether he actually can or not is immaterial but the prisoners who confess to him almost always feel a eep sense of relief once they have Considering Kate (The Stanislaskis, done so But then oneay Sonny receives information that turns his world upside Sweetland down His reaction is to make a very clever break from the prison and set out on a mission known only to himselfThe second major protagonist is Simon Kefas the policeman who attempts to track Sonnyown Simon was Sonny s father s partner and best friend and than anything else Simon wants to protect Sonny from the conseuences of his own actionsThe story s point of view shifts back and forth between the two main characters and the tension mounts from start to finish Both are flawed and very intriguing characters and in the end the reader may have a tough time eciding which of them to root for It s an absorbing story from Nesbo that will appeal to a variety of readers especially to the fans of his Harry Hole novels 15 hysterical predictable tedious stars Second Most Disappointing Read of 2019 Award Last year I read Nesbo s Macbeth and although very isappointed I was also fairly entertained and garnered a 25 star rating from me I felt that perhaps I might be interested and impressed in his Reading Jo Nesbo a reader uickly realizes that Nesbo is always capable of producing a good book but also has in him the ability to write a great book Nesbo s 2000 Harry Hole book The Redbreast is an example of Nesbo s writing at its bestHis 2014 novel The Son is another exampleFirst of all this is NOT a Harry Hole novel The Son is a stand alone book that centers around protagonist Sonny Lofthus a convicted murderer and heroin addict We find Sonny in prison and the reader uickly learns that he is in jail for crimes he has not committed He confesses to a murder and in exchange he is supplied a steady stream of needle Hers To Cherish (Verdantia, drugsWhy heoes this and how he has become this The Intelligent Entrepreneur damaged bag of human goods is a central part of Nesbo s charismatic prose But the most noteworthy aspect of the book is the integral and ubiuitous allegorical uality of the narrativeRipe with allegory and metaphor The Son is a modernay morality play with strong and resonant references to the Bible and with Western civilization Christian faith Lofthus is The Summer of the Ubume described in ways that would make him a Christ like figure only in negative and the vengeance he seeks from Oslo s underworld crime network is shown in stark and penetrating contrast to the clearly emblematic Christian frameworkWhile Nesbo avoids an outright symbolic and juxtaposing retelling of the New Testament to his credit The Son is so rife with Christian symbolism and tangential meaning that the reader is kept alert for all such references and when complementaryemonic and pagan references are made Nesbo has crafted for the reader a rich tapestry of multi layered meaning and imageryA good mystery thriller on the surface The Son works on various levels and leaves the reader with much to ponder in this enjoyable and well written story It was clear the. Sten he confesses to their crimes Inspector Simon Kefas is a edicated police officerSimon has worked for the Oslo police force for years He's just been assigned a new murder investigation and a new partner al.

Harry Hole